A mix tape left behind

2008, Oh What a Year

2008, Oh What a Year

Every year about this time I think back over the year and create a playlist for the year. This year was a crazy ride, full of ups and downs and some pretty strange events, and it ended pretty well.

2008: Oh, what a ride

January: “Crazy” by Patsy Cline The year began with my boyfriend breaking up with me. I was pretty devastated, not to mention I had a bad case of the winter blues. I had an outbreak at work that ended with me crying in the parking lot because of some mean girl. School was winding down and I got a crappy partner for the semester. Patsy seemed the best fit for sure.

February: “Far, Far Away” by Wilco Wilco, Damien Rice and Kings of Leon were the only bands I uploaded on my computer at school. This song is one of my favorites by them. I used to put in my earphones and work on stories. This was before we became inseperable as a class of crazy drunks.

March: “Suddenly I See” by KT Tunstall This song played over and over again at Outback where I worked. Plus the year started to pick up. Lunches at the Mexican restaurant down the street and $1 margaritas. My roommates were awesome. Chas and I were starting to get along again. Spring Break wasn’t quite as awesome as my other experiences, but it was fun nonetheless.

April: “Low” by Flo Rida This was my anthem. Ksyd and the drunks attempting 28 days of nights out on the town to commemorate (or rather NOT remember) the final 28 days of college.

May: “You Got Me” by Tristan Prettyman After graduation, or really after classes, I sort of moved in with my boyfriend. It was unofficial, more like I took a bunch of stuff and lived with him at the beach. It was a relaxing time although I started working at the Outback there. Road trip around the state with my girlfriend and a crazy weekend in Charleston with Ksyd. Summer days on the beach and nights staying up late watching movies and drinking wine.

June: “Good Vibrations” by Beach Boys Hanging out at the beach. Summer nights and summer days. Relaxing. Couple of trips to Columbia including a trip to see KOL and Pearl Jam at the Colonial Center. Pretty great show although the people in front of us were total assholes.

July: “Boogie Shoes” by KC and the Sunshine Band Moved to D.C. for my first real job. My boyfriend moved with me. Two friends got married and we danced to this song. That was my last week in the South and I miss all those crazy people so much. But living in the District has been an adventure.

August: “You’re my Best Friend” by Queen After a year and a half a roller coaster ride, Chas and I had figured things out. He’s my best friend. This song always reminds me of the beginning of The Break-Up.

September: “Take Me Home Country Roads” by John Denver We saw a singer at Ireland’s Four Fields in Cleveland Park play this song. We started to settle into the city and found some cool bars around town, like Busboys and Poets on V St. and Enology Wine Bar on Wisconsin. But still miss country roads.

October: “You Ain’t Goin No Where” By Bob Dylan We’ve been getting into Netflix, and really enjoyed I’m Not There. But then again Bob is my favorite. And then we started on No Direction Home.

November: “Say It Loud” by James Brown Barack Obama! This song is awesome anyway.

December: “Single Ladies” by Beyonce The song is very catchy and fun. The video is amazing. It’s like a workout video. And the SNL spoof of it rocks too. Great way to end the year. A very crazy year.

Other Notes:
“Sexy Can I” by Ray J This is my girlfriend’s anthem. How does it go, Jessica? Sexy Can I …
“Crazy Bitch” by Buckcherry A great song to rock out to in the streets of downtown Charleston.
“Beautiful Boy” by John Lennon My niece was born on Elvis’ birthday this year, and she’s the most beautiful.
“If This Room Could Move” by I Nine Good song for the metro ride to and from work.
“Closer” by Kings of Leon New Kings album and it’s pretty damn good. Plus we saw them twice this year. Another notch on the music belt.

Hope this next year is just as musical.
sing

Comments
3 Responses to “A mix tape left behind”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] have them going back to 2005 (you can imagine most of that year is pretty melancholy). (I actually posted about it once before.) On my birthday, I add a new tune to reflect that year in my […]

  2. […] shared the mixed tape of my year for a couple of years and even started making playlists for each month, so I thought I […]

  3. […] I was making this year’s list, I realized that Flo Rida has made the list every year since 2008. No reason to stop now. Apparently, I’m a big Flo Rida fan. Who […]



Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    January 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,279 other followers

  • Archives

