Just for fun

So I’ve had terrible migraines and then I got the flu walking back from the Inauguration. I’ve been MIA as of late because of the sickness and the business in my social sphere, which means I’ve done nothing but sleep and go to work. I’m lame.

Day One of three days standing in the cold with millions of people before I got the flu.

Day One of three days standing in the cold with millions of people before I got the flu.

 

 

But there’s this thing going around Facebook where you write 25 random things about yourself, and I gave in after about 10 people tagged me. Here’s my 25 random notes. 

***Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged. You have to tag the person who tagged you. If I tagged you, it’s because I want to know more about you.

(To do this, go to “notes” under tabs on your profile page, paste these instructions in the body of the note, type your 25 random things, tag 25 people (in the right hand corner of the app) then click publish.)

1. I’m a natural blonde who dyes her hair blonde. It makes sense if you think about it. Not to mention I first got highlights at 12. What was my mother thinking?

2. I came to D.C. at 12 and knew I wanted to live here. Again at 17, D.C. was the perfect picture of a future. And here I am, I have everything I’ve ever wanted. 

3. My family is super close and amazing. I love my sisters-in-law and my mom is my best friend. My brother’s drive me crazy and my dad can be annoying, but I wouldn’t trade them for anything. 

4. Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday, and it will forever include a week at the beach. 

5. I talk to my mom on the phone at least three times a week even though I hate talking on the phone. 

6. I HAVE to wake up to the Today Show every weekday with a cup of coffee. It gets me going. 

7. I read the Washington Post print edition every morning. And Dana Milbank is my favorite columnist. 

8. I want a cat. I’m a cat person, and I’m not afraid to say it. Cats rule and dogs drool. (Not that I don’t like dogs.)

9. Two favorite nicknames: Mufasa and Lilly. The first one because I have enough hair on my head for three people, and many times it looks like I have a mane. The second because I’m a little sister. 

10. My family likes to name our animals after literary figures. Tybalt the cat, Lysander the lab, Ozzymandias the cat … and then came Ruby. 

11. I’m a pacifist. I do not believe in war. I believe in human kindness. 

12. I’m a pessimist. I think the worst of people, but secretly hope they prove me wrong. 

13. I got a tattoo on spring break. So typical. So much fun. 

14. My dream job: A journalism adviser. Preferably college level, maybe high school. 

15. Favorite pastimes: watching addictive reality TV and texting my girl, newsroom antics, tubing adventures, and anything with my sister. 

16. I remember my dreams often. 

17. I have the most eclectic taste in music. Yes, Bob Dylan is my favorite, along with Kelly Clarkson. 

18. I’ve never been out of the country. And I don’t have a passport. It’s so lame, I know. 

19. I used to pierce ears, and I could tell you some horror stories. 

20. People are extremely rude to customer service workers in both retail and the food industry. Be nice or leave. 

21. I hate Emily Dickinson. I hate Sylvia Plath. I typically dislike female writers, minus Joyce Carol Oates and Flannery O’ Connor. 

22. I am a proud Southerner. That doesn’t make me racist, it means I can accept my heritage, and realize I am better than my forefathers. That is progress. 

23. F. Scott Fitzgerald wrote me in a short story: “Ice Palace” 

24. I love classical literature more than contemporary “literature.”

25. I don’t like music, literature, food and art snobs. Sometimes mediocre is just what you need, and sucky music is the best way to cure a bad mood.

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    February 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Jan »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    232425262728  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,279 other followers

  • Archives

