Eighth grade flashback

In eighth grade, a special class for talented students (called SEAGUL) ventured into HTML and web page development. Looking back, I think this might not have been a great idea. We used geocities (I think) and posted a bio with family photos. Awww, so 2000.

Ten years later, I’m learning the same HTML. I guess I thought we would be doing more design (Dreamweaver-ish) kind of stuff. As a lover of Illustrator and InDesign, I was very much looking forward to this.

I understand why we needed this basic skills. I certainly need the extra work with it. I’m not HTML expert. But I am impatiently waiting to get my hands wet with some design stuff. We have barely talked about page design — be still my heart. (Have I mentioned my fiancée is a page designer? swoon).

I’m going to consider the future of journalism and possible story ideas for now, but I am keeping an eye out of web site design discussion.

(Just for kicks, check out the Geocities-izer that will make any web page from today look like a Geocities page. Talk about eighth grade flashback. )

Leave a comment

  • Calendar

    August 2010
    M T W T F S S
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,277 other subscribers
  • Archives