The Valentine Pig

Have you ever heard of the Valentine Pig? Probably not. I realized this when I was in elementary school. It was a White Family thing. Every Valentine’s Day a treasure trove of goodies would show up, typically in brown paper bags, in odd places.

One year they were on the top of the the slide in the backyard. Another year, there was a ring at the doorbell and the bags were on the porch. One year in college, I came home from a stressful day of class to find a brown paper bag on my apartment’s front stoop. The bags are filled with delicious and unhealthy snacks.

When my older brother was a kid he came running through the house screaming, “I saw the Valentine Pig!” Another year we actually got stuffed pigs.

Since I moved to D.C., the Valentine Pig has been strictly sending greeting cards with goodies inside.

Let’s just say the Valentine Pig is the best mom in the world. 🙂

(In case you were curious, my Pig is dressed that way because I call him Elvis, as in Costello. And he loves St. Pat’s as much as I do, I guess.)

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,279 other followers

  • Archives

