Win

image

 

I’ve worked out in some way for the last 5 days! Win.

I’m trying to set a goal of 3-4 days a week. All the healthy living blogs & magazines say that setting goals help you work toward something. (Some of the great posts I’ve read are included below.) I’ve decided I don’t want to focus on the scale because I haven’t had a lot of success there. Sometimes I think looking at the numbers can be disheartening and really this isn’t about some number to me. It’s just about being healthier overall.

If I’m eating right and working out regularly and I still “weigh” a certain amount, well, to hell with weight. That’s just some number for how much gravity is pulling you down anyway. (Right, science nerds?)

I’m happy because I’d given myself last night as a “night off” from exercise, but after just doing 40 minutes of yoga on Monday I felt like I owed myself a harder workout. So we popped in a DVD and sweated it out anyway. Win.

Working out with the husband? Win.

Then tonight we cooked up something delicious.

image

 

 

Shrimp and Succotash

(via Women’s Health magazine)

Simple. Easy. Delicious. Low Cal. (Seriously, 265 calories for dinner? That’s enough so that we can have rice, too. Yum.)

As promised here are just a few great blog posts I’ve flagged to remember lately.

 

 

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Win”
  1. Hey Liz! I’m so glad you found Coffee Cake and Cardio! I look forward to reading more on your blog and about your adventures in DC. — Ashley

  2. zenlizzie says:

    I like your way of setting goals. I always have an idea in mind that I would LIKE to see on the scale, but most of the time the only thing I can really control are my actions.
    I never think to make shrimp at home, but I’ve seen so many good recipes for it lately, maybe I’ll have to give in.

    • Liz says:

      First, why not make shrimp at home? It’s so easy. We always use the frozen kind, which is probably not the best, but it is so simple. & delicious.

      Second, I’m really trying with the goal setting thing. I’ve been really bad in the past at penciling in workouts and then talking myself out of them in the past. I think since I’m a little more committed this time that it has been easier to keep the dates. I’ve even scheduled out time for the next few weeks since I’m so busy.

      We’ll see how well I keep up with this. I need to work more on keeping my momentum.

      We should chat about the C25K thing. I might blog about it soon. I’m not a runner.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,279 other followers

  • Archives

