Trying something new

image

 

Strange day.

I was in an angry kind of mood after being slammed with an assignment at 4:30 when I was trying to leave close to 5 so I could make zumba. Leave it to the federal government to wait until the last minute for releases.

So I missed zumba, but I forced myself to walk around the neighborhood and then head over to the gym for a workout on the elliptical. That makes three times this week! (Yoga counts, right?)

It’s a good thing I got to three already because we’re heading to Savannah tomorrow to visit friends! image

 

Well, I was left on my own tonight because the husband had class. I decided to make something from the random stuff in our fridge so I made teriyaki chicken with pineapple and peppers.

OK, I admit I added a slice of low-sodium provolone on top, which might seem strange but I’ve had a sandwich that was pretty much this and the flavors actually work pretty well together. Plus, it’s cheese.


image

 

 

Then I took some squash (we had 2 small squash) and sliced it like chips and tossed it with:

 

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • paprika
  • cayenne pepper (I like spicy)
  • onion powder
  • salt and pepper

 

Then I sprayed a baking sheet and baked them at 400 for about 20 minutes, flipping half way. They were delicious with just a little kick. The squash didn’t get crunchy like chips, but oh they were yum-o. And healthy!

image

Comments
2 Responses to “Trying something new”
  1. zenlizzie says:

    I will pretty much add cheese to anything, and I’ve yet to find a dish that it didn’t improve at least a little bit. I never thought I would like the fruity-asian flavor combination, but I recently made some pineapple sesame sauce for stir fry, and it was actually really good.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,279 other followers

  • Archives

