Remembering

The sun came out for the weekend.

I meant to share this photo on Friday after the sun came out after almost a week of rain. It was beautiful.

And here in D.C. we had a beautiful weekend to humbly remember the horror and bravery from 10 years ago.

As the day came closer more and more news organizations started posting great pieces reflecting that day. At first I just cried quietly at my desk and then I started bookmarking.

These stories are just little pieces of what I think of as great journalism:

New York Times, Washington Post and NPR had amazing packages of coverage. This is just a tip of the powerful news coverage ten years later.

Often the media gets a bad rap. Let me just say, without such talented journalists we wouldn’t know these stories and reflections. That is the power of journalism.

Plenty of reporters and photographers died that day. They die every day overseas trying to uncover the truth. As a public that relies on freedom and praises ourselves for it, let’s not forget those that help us truly see.

The stories are beautiful, tragic, sincere, heart wrenching, powerful, human. Don’t forget the storytellers.

Comments
2 Responses to “Remembering”
  1. alexiscasey says:

    Thanks for sharing these, liz. I was in the car all day yesterday and didn’t get a chance to watch any coverage. I passed through a small town in GA as a large group of people were outside a church holding a remembrance ceremony. It’s great to know people are still remembering those who are no longer with us. I’m glad I got to read these stories and grieve with the storytellers.

    thanks.

    • Liz says:

      I know. I was busy all weekend with other stuff. And that kind of makes me feel bad. I did catch a piece of a great show on History channel about witnesses. It was about some people in Manhattan who had video cameras. It was powerful listening to them describe the day’s events & their thoughts as they filmed it happening.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,279 other followers

  • Archives

