Importance of girlfriends

Despite the pouring, crazy rain in D.C. tonight, I went to dinner and happy hour with a co-worker friend. We went to Nando’s Peri-Peri in Chinatown. I’m not sure I’ve raved enough about Nando’s before. I think it’s on my list of “my district” place because yeah, I love it.

That sauce. To. Die. For.

And get this, during happy hour Nando’s has pitchers of delicious sangria for $7. SEVEN. Like what George wanted to name his kid.

I often forget how awesome and important girlfriends are for sanity. Us women have this problem with getting in relationships and kind of spending less and less time with our girls.

I’ve been on both sides of this — as the girl spending every night in with the bf and as the single girl being invited to spend spring break with a cohort of couples.

Sure as the weather gets worse (and by worse I mean colder) we all spend less time out and about. But I think it is important to remember to schedule time with our friends.

Our first year or so in the city we didn’t have a lot of friends here. We spent most of our time together. That was fun. It made is closer.

But it’s also unhealthy. Girls need girl time just as much as boys need their dude time.

Even as the winter approaches, it’s important to remember about time away from a significant other. I don’t mean long periods of time a part, but maybe just a night out with some sangria and delicious spicy chicken.

So I guess the point of this rambling post is just to say I’m thankful for my awesome girlfriends, both here in the city and elsewhere in the country. My husband is a big part of my life but so are they.

I love you, girls!

I’m also thankful for $7 sangria in the city.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,279 other followers

  • Archives

