Looking back: a year in music

Mixed CDs left behind

In 2005, during a period of recollection and sadness, I sat down and made a playlist. At the time, playlists were kind of my thing. I used to make mixed CDs and decorate them for every mood, purpose and moment. At that point, I was going through some big changes — first heart break and all that.

I stopped being as “into music” and as “creative.”  I stopped going to and watching artsy-fartsy, foreign films. I stopped being such a crazy hippie. That’s just part of me growing up.

I still love music. Bob Dylan speaks to my soul. I also still love foreign films. I’m just not all about that kind of thing anymore. There’s a lot more to who I am now.

I do still love to make playlists though. So every year I make a year-end-reflection playlist. I have them going back to 2005 (you can imagine most of that year is pretty melancholy). (I actually posted about it once before.) On my birthday, I add a new tune to reflect that year in my life.

This year, I’d thought I share my list with the blogosphere. So, here’s my year in music. (You can also listen to is on Spotify, possibly through this link if it works.)

January 

I Follow Rivers – Lykke Li

Can’t explain why I chose this song. I wrote it down on my moleskin list at the beginning of the year so I must have liked it.

February 

Who Dat Girl – Flo Rida

Same goes with this tune. I think I just really liked this song in February, plus I had several fun nights out that month with friends.

March

I Can’t Help Falling in Love – Ub40

Honeymooning in Costa Rica. ‘Nough said.

April 

How Great Thou Art – Carrie Underwood

A gospel singer sang this at my grandfather’s funeral. It was a beautiful song for a sad moment. Any time it comes up on my shuffle I think about it.

That’s something I love about music — its ability to take us back to moments.

May

The World Spins Madly On – The Weepies

Graduation! I often felt this way when finishing classes and starting a full-time job.

Woke up and wished that I was dead
With an aching in my head
I lay motionless in bed
I thought of you and where you’d gone
and let the world spin madly on

June 

Give Me Everything – Pitbull

June was a busy social month and final month of classes & the best weekend ever. I chose this song because it’s such a fun tune that always makes me want to dance (even though I can only white-girl dance badly).

July

Home – Jack Johnson

In July, the husband and I moved from the city into the inner-suburbs. I quite love this Jack Johnson song.

Home is wherever we are if there’s love here too

August

Your Song – Elton John

For my beautiful new niece.

I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words
How wonderful life is while you’re in the world

So excuse me forgetting but these things I do
You see I’ve forgotten if they’re green or they’re blue
Anyway the thing is what I really mean
Yours are the sweetest eyes I’ve ever seen

September

Little Wonders – Rob Thomas

This was a tough one. September was a fast month because I was so busy with life. I love this song. It always reminds me of Meet the Robinsons, which always makes me cry. Anyway, I chose this song mostly for its lyrics:

our lives are made
in these small hours
these little wonders,
these twists & turns of fate
time falls away,
but these small hours,
these small hours still remain

October

Crazy Love – Van Morrison

One year down and forever to go.

November

Good Life – OneRepublic

November was a good month. There was a lot of traveling and fortunately a lot of family time. Yep, this is a good life.

December

Cheers (Drink to that) — Rihanna 

December is always the toughest month. Mostly because I usually compile the list before the month is over. And nothing really happens in December. My December songs are pretty uneventful.

Take last year’s “99 Red Balloons”– I have no idea why. I think I just gave up.

This year, Rihanna’s song just seemed right. I plan on having a lot of social events throughout the rest of the month. So I’ll drink to that.

And others: Just songs I’m digging or meant something this year. Most often 12 tracks just isn’t enough.

Last Friday Night – Katy Perry

I probably overplayed this song on my iPod more than radios did. It’s my anthem for the year. I love the video, too.

Harry Potter theme

I can’t believe it’s all over. Tear. I look forward to having Harry be a part of my life for a long time.

And seriously if you’re ever looking for good background music for studying or something the score from these movies are great. I mean it’s John Williams. Duh.

Rows of Homes- The Western States Motel

I discovered this song via Pandora one day. I liked it. Reminds me of my neighborhood’s row like houses.

As Long As You’re Mine – Wicked

In August, I went to see Wicked at the Kennedy Center with my parents, my grandmother (who came to visit me from S.C.!) and friends. I’ve been wanting to see it for years (since I read the book and became hooked on the music). It was better than I imagined. Originally I’d had “For Good,” and then I realized it was the song I used in my original post about Wicked so I changed it. This one is good, too. Great songs. Wonderful show. Now make it into a movie!

Get Outta My Dreams, Get Into My Car – Billy Ocean

I’m a big 80s music fan. Billy Ocean is kind of like one of the best 80s singers. “Caribbean Queen,” anyone? This song was included just because we got a car! Well, and I had to have at least one 80s song on here.

What It Takes – Aerosmith

One cold night during the winter months, the husband and I were staying in, drinking wine and listening to music, like every winter weekend. Somehow we started talking about this song and how freaking amazing it is. No seriously. It’s probably the best Aerosmith song and I love Aerosmith so I don’t say that lightly. I think that night we put this youtube video on and played in several times. That is, before I switched it to “Take It on the Run” by REO Speedwagon.

Speaking of REO Speedwagon …

Take it on the Run — REO Speedwagon 

Uh, yeah, Thank you, Pandora, for reminding me how awesome this song is. I can’t explain why I love it so. I just kind of do.

Fleet Foxes

It took me a while to pinpoint the exact Fleet Foxes song to add. All their songs are so good. It took forever to choose just one.

I’m including this one because Pecknold’s voice is extraordinary in this track. He sang this song when we saw them in May (for my birthday!). While the whole of the Fleet Foxes show isn’t the best concert I’ve been to (that title belongs to Damien Rice and secondly Bob Dylan), this performance was … there are no words.

Don’t get me wrong there. The Fleet Foxes show was certainly one of the best shows I’ve been to. It just wasn’t, you know, the best.

OK I can’t help it. Here’s another.

Now go ahead and steal my tradition.

I like flipping through my playlists and listening to a year and thinking about why I chose a certain song or what was going on at that time. It’s a great brain, memory test-y thing-a-ma-bob. For instance, 2006 begins in “It’s Friday I’m in Love” and ends with “I’m Gonna Find Another You.” Awesome memories right there.

Comments
2 Responses to “Looking back: a year in music”
  1. Felicia says:

    “Last Friday Night” always reminds me of CR. 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,279 other followers

  • Archives

