Looking back: moments in 2011

Moments of 2011

525,600 minutes, 525,000 moments so dear. 525,600 minutes – how do you measure, 
measure a year? In daylights, in sunsets, in midnights, in cups of coffee. In 
inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife. In 525,600 minutes – how do you 
measure a year in the life? 

Maybe this is a little too “Seasons of Love” of me, what every year is made up of a ton of tiny moments. Here are some of my moments from 2011.

First photo of the day -- a cup of tea.

January: Kicked off the year with the photo-a-day project. We also had our first big marriage fight — over the husband going vegan. I started my spring semester of classes at American University.

February: I live tweeted an event with Amy Chua, author of the controversial “Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother.” I learned a lot in school, I guess. There was also a lot of fun nights out in the city, celebrating being young.

Honeymooning in Costa Rica.

MarchHoneymoon in Tamarindo, Costa Rica. We also visited Columbia for a friend’s wedding. I did a lot of fun reporting and covered the circus! Oh, right and I got a job.

April: April was bittersweet. It was full of stressful school work, fun times with girlfriends, slowly melting D.C., and my 25th birthday. My grandfather also died that month.

Filming for class on a Sunday.

May:  I walked for graduation and started working full-time and taking classes in the evening. That means it was a hectic month.

June: We started house hunting for a new apartment outside the city. I finally finished coursework for my masters degree. Friends visited for the best weekend ever.

We had a surprise bridal shower/ bachlorette party for a good friend from school. Those girls were certainly the highlight of graduate school.

July: July was mostly the month of the move so we said good-bye to Tenleytown and the District for Alexandria (exploring the other side of the river & unpacking). There was a lot of saying bye (to great, new friends).  I finally got my blonde hair back. It was also the month of the last Harry Potter.

And finally we said good bye to Northwest.

August: We were still unpacking and getting settled, but we were able to work back into a routine & do a ton of cooking. Our parents and grandmother came to visit our new place. We took a boat ride around the Potomac. There was a freaking EARTHQUAKE and a Hurricane!  And my niece was born!

Welcome to the world, Lusie.

September: We continued exploring our new neighborhood, kicked off football season & visited friends in Savannah.

With the husband around so beautiful Southern moss.

October: The 10th month involved a ton of traveling for me — Memphis for a wedding, Columbia for a conference, and Denver for work. I got a promotion at work that moved me over to Capitol Hill. We also didn’t buy a car. It also marked the one year anniversary for us.

November: We spent all November weekends in Carolina for various reasons — football, a wedding, and Thanksgiving. We celebrated tradition. And we did get a car.

The wheels

December: Well, it’s not exactly over yet … but, December has been a good month, cooking and seeing friends. There’s been bad news (I’m not ready to share yet). There have been fights, date nights, and staying home.

“How do you measure  a year in the life?” I guess I can’t fully answer the question. This is just a start.

Comments
One Response to “Looking back: moments in 2011”
  1. Clare says:

    Looks like an eventful year! I need to remember to take more photos next year!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,279 other followers

  • Archives

