Staycation

This weekend the husband and I celebrated our anniversary staycation style. Originally, I wanted to do something bigger (see European vacation) for our 2 year mark. But then life gets in the way.

For a while our plan has been to just have a nice dinner out in the city, maybe go see a movie and call it a night. Exciting stuff.

Then this week, I found out I would have to work later on Friday night and again on Saturday morning. This is because ESPN’s College GameDay came to campus.

I have to say, if you’re going to have to work in the off-hours this is the way to do it.

ESPN’s College GameDay visits UofSC’s Horseshoe.

It was cool covering GameDay’s visit and it was certainly an exciting week at USC, but it really cut into our anniversary time.

Then I had an idea. When we got married we stayed at the Inn at USC (the inn that is run my USC students) on campus. A lot of our guests stayed here. I took bridal portraits here. We had our rehearsal dinner here as well. It’s an awesome place. See, photographic evidence.

The Inn at USC.

Because it was the Georgia game (well any football game really) I knew the Inn would be booked, but I called on a whim anyway. All the other hotels downtown were booked. Football is kind of a big deal around here.

The inn had just had a cancellation. They could squeeze us in for one night in the last room available. I took it. This meant I could walk over to the inn after finishing work on Friday evening, get ready and still have a nice night out with my husband. It also meant I could walk over to the Horseshoe Saturday morning early and not worry about leaving for the entire day (since the football game was Saturday night).

I love this place.

As luck would have it, when I walked in to check-in, the guy at the front desk was on the phone with someone canceling for the weekend. I jumped on that opportunity too and scored another night.

I didn’t get to dress up in my pretty new dress and wedding heels as planned, but we had a lovely night downtown, just the two of us.

We started with drinks on the rooftop of the Sheraton downtown.

The rooftop bar at the Sheraton in downtown Columbia has great views of the city.

It was a little full of Georgia fans (and we all know how Georgia fans can be) so we left for dinner. I wanted to get a seat at the new Oak Table on Main Street or Colas in the Vista. Both were strange about giving reservations and I was turned off at the idea of spending so much money on dinner with no guarantee of a table.

So we went to Mr. Friendly’s in Five Points, one of the husband’s favorite places. And he was right. I still can’t believe I’ve never been there. The food was incredible.

Not such a great picture of my food. Oops.

Classic Southern food done perfectly. I had a tough time deciding between the bacon-wrapped steak with pimento cheese and the shrimp and grits. I’ll be going back for sure.

Saturday was even better. Because this happened

Lee Corso pick the Gamecocks to upset No. 5 UGA.

That was pretty awesome. Then this happened.

We spent the afternoon and evening tailgating in the Fairgrounds. We didn’t have tickets to the game, but it’s pretty exciting just to be near Williams-Brice Stadium. Sure there was a slight delay but we knew when our Gamecocks were making big plays and we got to celebrate right there with everyone else.

Tailgating at Williams-Brice

I can’t even express how awesome it was to be able to go back to the hotel between work and the game. It was such a hot (but beautiful day in this Famously Hot city). I only wish I had been able to partake in the mimosas they have at breakfast and the cocktail hour in the afternoon. (Seriously, come to Columbia and stay here.)

Now we’re back at our temporary home getting ready for another week. We’re only a few weeks out for closing on our house. So while we did spend too much money this weekend, it was worth it.

Go Gamecocks!

Gamecock pride runs in the family.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,279 other followers

  • Archives

