Reality hits

Broad Street in Camden, SC

I think the glass has shattered and I’m finally getting to a point of reality. One night this week it hit me that I wasn’t in D.C. anymore. I thought about what I would be doing if I’d been there — out with some girlfriends perhaps or settled into our Fairlington house. Things are great here but I do miss bits and pieces from Washington. (more on that later)

When we first moved, I wrote about not completely feeling the reality of all that’s happened. I think that’s coming about now.

We’re closing on our house this week. That means I’ve been trying to sort out what needs to be done for closing, moving and well, settling in.

I went hunting for a new sofa. That’s not as easy as I thought it would be, but I’m leaning my husband isn’t going to make anything easy. I don’t think he believes in easy. There’s always research to be done and negotiations and finding the best options. I dread what this means for decorating an entire house.

I spent hours sorting through old stuff from high school and middle school to clean out furniture I’ll be moving in a week. I laughed most of the time.

For example, I found a list of a 100 characteristics I’d like in a future mate. Turns out the husband meets these qualifications to a T, include “taller than me,” “dark, curly hair,” “no bulging necks,” and “willing to compromise but stubborn.” Oh right and “no Southern accent.”

I found the very first newsletter I ever made dated April 1995 and called “The futuristic State newspaper.” I also found a recommendation letter from my middle school yearbook adviser. How many people can say they knew what they wanted to do when they were 9 and then actually did it?

High school newspaper, where it all started.

I found a ton of old notebooks filled with random thoughts and collections. There was one notebook devoted to making playlists. Yep. Playlists.

Another notebook was full of other lists. Yep. Lists. And another notebook was a dream journal. I’d decided to title them all “The one with …” much like my favorite, Friends. There was an entry called “The one with Christian Bale” and another called “the one where Britney Spears signs an orange.” (I really need to do a Mortified post)

I definitely laughed a lot. Now it’s hitting me.

In just a few days we’ll be homeowners. The husband still doesn’t have a job so the pressure of money is stressing me out. There are a ton of things that have to be done and little items that need to be purchased. I’m excited about the house and moving out, really living here. I’m excited about maybe getting out of this transitional period.

That doesn’t make it any less scary or stressful.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,279 other followers

  • Archives

