Book club: a new beginning

I’ve been trying to get back on track with my reading. That’s part of my 2013 goals — 30 books this year. I’ve been missing the D.C. book club and the purpose it gave me to reading. So I started a club here in Columbia.

I was amazed by the interest. I messaged about six young women and they in turned passed the message along. Before long I had more than 20 women in Columbia interested in getting together to talk books and drink wine (even if we do more of the later).

For the first book we chose (via online voting) “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn. I read Gone Girl last year and loved it.

20130415-204247.jpg

I read Gone Girl for my D.C. book club but we never got to meet to talk about it. I’ve been dying to discuss with someone. Gone Girl makes a good book club book because not everyone likes it.

A good book club conversation involves a variety of opinions. I happened to like this book. It was thrilling and crazy. The plot kept twisting.

I liked that the story was told from two very different points-of-view and from narrators you can’t trust.

Here’s what I said last year:

I think this was one of the best books I read all year. I devoured it in two days. I like the dueling narrators, leaving the reader wondering what story is real and who is lying. A seriously thrilling story with so many twists.

Like most book clubs we talked about the book for oh 20 minutes, drank a lot of wine and enjoyed some delicious food.

20130415-204308.jpg

Now we’re reading “Perks of Being a Wallflower,” which I read already but look forward to discuss as a group. Book clubs are awesome. Can you tell I’m looking forward to our next meeting?

Comments
One Response to “Book club: a new beginning”
  1. April says:

    Sounds like lots of fun! I tried to do a book club last year but then no one wanted to buy or read the freakin’ books.

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    April 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,279 other followers

  • Archives

