Back down south

I’m ashamed at how late this post is. Last week was my first birthday back in the South, back near family. Don’t get me wrong, my birthdays in D.C. were great.

Year No. 1 we went out to our favorite, local Mexican place with my friends from work. My office had a birthday celebration like they did for every person in the office. Seriously, we ate cake like every week. I met my parents and brother’s family at a campground a few hours outside the city during the weekend.

Year No. 2 when I was working at Newsweek I thought no one knew it was my birthday. I had no plans. I ate lunch in front of the White House. When I came back my co-workers had bought me a delicious cupcake and sang happy birthday. But the biggest surprise — my parents drove up and surprised me. I bought my wedding dress the next day.

Year No. 3 I went to eat Indian food with friends from grad school. We had a strange Indian dessert that was sort of like flan. The husband and I spent my actual birthday in low-key fashion and got a tragic phone call that night. I flew home a day later.

Year No. 4 I met a great crowd of friends for drinks and dinner. We laughed and talked until it was pretty late. The cupcakes I made disappeared slowly. We gave one to our cab driver, the hostess and the waitress.

It’s true, D.C. was full of love. Friends. Laughs. Memories.

But there’s just something about family …

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The husband and I grabbed a delicious dinner at Saluda’s in Five Points overlooking the fountain. The food was great and I loved the atmosphere. I’ll definitely be back. Then we walked down to Speakeasy for a drink. I love Speakeasy for it’s mixed drinks and the cucumber martini I had didn’t disappoint.

I had also got to have a family dinner at Mellow Mushroom, a work celebration during lunch at Miyo’s and a cook-out gathering at my house. All in all, it was quite a first birthday back in Carolina. I’m pretty stuffed.

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    April 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,279 other followers

  • Archives

